When Are Wage-Loss Benefits Paid Under Workers’ Compensation?
While seeking medical treatment when you have suffered an on-the-job injury is your first priority, identifying your safety net for lost wages is a close second. Bills for the mortgage, electricity, car lease, food for your family and now your medical care continue even as your injuries prevent you from going to work. But there is good news for those in this predicament. Nearly every Pennsylvania worker is covered by the Pennsylvania Workers’ Compensation Act, which provides for wage-loss compensation.
According to the Pennsylvania Department of Labor & Industry, workers’ compensation payments for disability are payable after you have been disabled for more than seven calendar days. Benefits for time lost are payable on the eighth day after injury, but you must be off work for 14 days to receive retroactive payment for the first seven days. Payment for temporary compensation may be made for up to 90 days.
When do wage-loss payments stop?
If during this time you are offered a job by your employer that is compliant with your medical restrictions, and if you decline that job, your employer may petition to reduce or stop your wage-loss benefits. If you have returned to work at wages equal to or more than your earnings prior to injury, or if your employer rejects your disability claim during the 90-day period of temporary compensation, the company may notify you that it is stopping benefits.
What do I do if there is a problem?
If you have not received the benefits to which you are entitled, contact your employer. The company is allowed 21 days from the day you notify it of your disability to accept or deny your claim or to make payments for temporary compensation.
Contact an experienced workers’ compensation attorney at Georgelis, Larsen & Sabatino Injury Law Firm, P.C., P.C. to discuss the facts of your case. We are eager to assist you.